Symposium on Guru Nanak’s Philosophy: Historical Importance and Contemporary Relevance

THE CPIML organized a symposium on ‘Guru Nanak’s Philosophy: Historical Importance and Contemporary Relevance’ at Mansa in Punjab on 10 November 2019.



Speaking at the symposium dedicated to the 550th Prakash Purab, thinker and psychologist Dr Shyam Sundar Deepti said that Baba Nanak was a peerless philosopher who not only spoke against illogical rituals and the Brahminical caste system and taught human values, sharing and eating together and living in harmony, but also practiced what he preached and travelled far and wide to spread his message of love and humanity. It is unfortunate that his followers today seem to be mired in the very same rituals that Guru Nanak spoke against. Integrity of thought and action is at the root of Guru Nanak’s philosophy and it is this integrity which is the greatest necessity of our contemporary times. Jago International Editor Bhagwant Singh emphasized the need to understand the true meaning of ‘Bani’ and implement it in our daily lives. Dr Kuldeep Singh Deep said that the 550th Prakash Purab should not be reduced to a global corporate celebration but should become part of our social and political practice in life. Former National Minorities Commission member Prof Baba Singh said that the Sikh Mat and Marxism are both revolutionary philosophies but unfortunately both have not yet succeeded in achieving their true purpose. Kisan leaders Raldu Singh and Kripal Singh Bir critiqued the Ayodhya verdict and said that judgement, not justice, has been delivered. Singer and music composer Amrit Bange presented a song. The symposium was conducted by Sukhdarshan Singh Natt. The symposium welcomed the opening of the Kartarpur Saheb corridor and demanded that the Indian government should make arrangements for road access and visas for people across the border to visit their relatives on this side of the border.



Present on the occasion were Rajvinder Singh Rana, Jasbir Dhand, Darshan Joga, Punjab Muslim Front leader Hans Raj Mofar, Nachhattar Singh Khova, Darshan Singh Dhillon, Sukhdev Singh Mann, Balwinder Singh Chahal, Rajinder Singh Siwian, Bhagwant Singh Samaon, Jasbir Kaur Natt and Simarjeet Kaur Simmi.