Solidarity March on Kankinara

JUNE 10, 2019: A peace and solidarity march was organised at Kankinara, by the North 24 Parganas District Committee, where General Secretary Com. Dipankar Bhattacharya and comrades from adjacent districts took part.

After the victory of the BJP candidate (and erstwhile strongman MLA of TMC from Bhatpara Assembly Constituency) Arjun Singh in the Barrackpore LS seat, the situation has changed rapidly in this region. Arjun Singh's son won the Bhatpara Assembly By-election, and soon after, the BJP has begun to capture the boards of Municipal Corporation and Panchayats, forcibly occupying offices of TMC, and unleashing terror in the industrial zone. While the administration has not brought the offenders to book, political killings, arson, and terror has gripped the public life, while communal tension through polarisation of people, especially the working class.

In view of the above, the CPIML District Committee under the leadership of State Secretary Partha Ghosh, organised a ‘Peace and Solidarity March’ amongst the residents of the district. CPIML General Secretary, Dipankar addressed the gathering and gave an urgent appeal towards maintaining class unity and solidarity amongst all sections of the society and called for keeping a vigilant eye against those trying to incite communal violence.