AIKM Conference in Tamil Nadu

THE state conference of All India Kisan Mahasabha in Tamil nadu was held in Kumbakonam on 27th October, on the occasion of 3rd anniversary of Com TKS Janarthanan. Around 250 activists and cadres from 15 districts represented in the conference. The conference began with flag hoisting by Com Narayanan who closely worked with martyred comrade Subbu. A two minutes silence was observed as mark of homage to comrades Ram Naresh Ram, TKS Janarthnan and other martyrs and departed leaders. Com T. Kannaian welcomed the delegates.

Com Hari Nath, National Secretary of AIKM and central observer inaugurated the conference. He recalled the Srikakulam peasants‘ struggles in the then Madras Presidency, during British Period. In the year 1937, peasants of Srikakulam undertook a 1512 km padayatra from Srikakulam to Chennai demanding Land to the peasants which facilitated abolition of Zamindari system. He called upon the conference to make success of the Nov 30 Delhi rally on peasants demands.

Com Simpson on behalf of the presidium outlined the significance of strengthening the organization at the time of severe agrarian crisis sweeping the country. Chandramohan explained the corporate land grab in the name of development. Projects like 8-lane, 6-lane express highways, proposed hydrocarbon extractions will virtually destroy the land and agriculture and render the agrarian fields into desert. He called for resistance to stall the corporate land loot. Ayyandurai and Narayanan also shared their experiences of struggles in their respective areas.

Greeting the conference S. Kumarasamy, State Secretary of CPI(ML), detailed the prevailing political situation in the country and in the state. He highlighted the Pricol workers strike in support of peasantry and subsequent punishment of workers. He called upon to develop agrarian struggles against the government policies. AIARLA state president Balasundaram addressed the conference. Balasubramanian, State Secretary of Puducherry, AICCTU TN State Gen Secretary Sankarapandian sent their greetings.

17 member state committee was unanimously elected. The committee in turn elected five member office bearers team with Simpson as president and Chandramohan as general secretary. The conference passed several resolutions. In memory of Ram Naresh Ram and TKS Janarthnan, a booklet was released on this occasion.